Norwalk SNEW


South Norwalk Electric and Water (SNEW) is located at 1 State Street in Norwalk, CT.

The Second Taxing District owns and independently operates South Norwalk Electric and Water (SNEW), a water and electric utility. The utility serves some 9,000 customers with water throughout sections of South Norwalk, East Norwalk, West Norwalk, Rowayton, Silvermine and Wilton, and approximately 5,000 customers with electric in South Norwalk.

The Second Taxing District of the City of Norwalk is a municipal corporation, created in 1913, by a special act of the Connecticut State Legislature. The District is considered a corporate and politic body, and as such, has the ability and power to sue and be sued, acquire and sell real estate, possess a common seal, levy taxes, “together with all the rights, powers, franchises, privileges and immunities granted to the former City of South Norwalk …”.

The District is governed by a Board of seven (7) elected Commissioners who also serve as Water and Electric Commissioners. The Commission has the power and authority to handle the affairs of the District in much the same manner as selectmen of towns.

The District also maintains parks and other public spaces in the South Norwalk community.